Twitter

When I first became introduced to Twitter, I honestly wondered what the point of it was.  I signed up for my account, and I didn’t know what exactly to do with the website.  It wasn’t until I got sent a text message informing me that I was being “followed” by a classmate that I felt even more skeptical of it.  Once we started talking more about it in class, I decided to try to be more open minded about the Twitter World.  Professor Nixon explained to us that Twitter was similar to updating our Facebook status.  Even though I wasn’t completely convinced yet about the site, I felt like I had a better understanding of it.

Once I got into sending tweets, my initial impression of Twitter started to change.  I enjoyed reading everyone’s tweets.  I definitely came across a wide variety, ranging from serious to humorous.  Twitter was also a good way to have questions or concerns answered quickly.  Whether it was asking about the weather for tomorrow or a comment about something on the news, there would usually be at least one reply to the person.  I thought this was extremely helpful. 

Though I’m not completely convinced by Twitter, I think with more time I could find better use out of it.  I have realized that it is definitely a huge way for people to network, and it has helped people land jobs in the past.  Even though I’m not the biggest fan of Twitter, I will definitely keep my account.  Needless to say, this week on Twitter has been interesting, and I plan to keep in touch with the Twitter World.

Published in: on February 2, 2009 at 11:23 pm  Comments (1)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://mspille1.wordpress.com/2009/02/02/twitter/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

One CommentLeave a comment

  1. Thanks for sharing your thoughts about the One Week of Twitter experience. I’m glad you see the potential in Twitter for PR practitioners.

    Here’s another way of thinking about Twitter: imagine if the prompting question was “What has captured your attention?”


Leave a Reply

