Chapter 2: Eras of PR

Usually history does not interest me at all, but I thoroughly enjoyed reading about the different eras of PR and discussing them in class.  I learned so many interesting facts in the mixed groups and once everyone started sharing facts at the end of class.

I was so surprised that PR dated all the way back to the Boston Tea Party!  The fact that PRWeek called it “.. the greatest and best known publicity stunt of all time..,”  blows my mind!  I always thought of PR being a fairly new area in the business world.  I was definitely wrong!  Also, I thought all of the pioneers of PR were interesting to read and talk about.  I learned that Teddy Roosevelt was the first president to make use of press conferences to gain support from people.  I also found out that PR was prevalent in World War I.  President Woodrow Wilson asked George Creel to use massive PR efforts to unite the country.  That’s quite an important task for someone!  Probably one of the most important men of PR would be Edward Bernays, the “father of modern public relations”. 

I also enjoyed the statistics of PR.  70% of the practitioners in PR are women, and it allows opportunities for more advancements (and more pay!) for women.  The PR field has expanded tremendously and is only going to keep growing.  This somewhat makes me nervous about finding a job, but it is also exciting to know there are so many fields involved in PR.  I’m anxious to learn more about the different fields of PR and find my niche!

This information was taken from the book  Public Relations Strategies and Tactics, Ninth Edition by Dennis L. Wilcox and Glen T. Cameron.

Published in: on February 4, 2009 at 12:50 am  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://mspille1.wordpress.com/2009/02/04/pr-history/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

