48 Hours of Twitter

For our assignment, we were told to use Twitter for 48 hours.  This time was different from the first week of twittering for me.  At first, I honestly had no idea what I was doing.  I only updated my “status”, and that was pretty much it.  This time around, I have found myself a little more addicted to Twitter.  Now, I usually find myself checking Twitter on my cell phone throughout the day when I’m not around a computer.  I really enjoy reading other people’s tweets to keep up with everything going on.  Also, for my interview with a public relations pro, I used Twitter to ask Jeremy Pepper for an interview.  Without Twitter, I would have been up the creek without a paddle because I don’t know anyone in the PR field.  Thankfully, Twitter has opened me up to people who practice public relations in so many different careers.  I will admit that I have not been very good at interacting with PR pros on Twitter, but I have definitely been able to see how helpful Twitter would be for that.  I am still amazed at the rate Twitter is growing!  When we were first told to start using Twitter, I had never heard of it and neither had any of my friends.  Now, it is all over the news, and celebrities are all into it.  I’ll even admit that following some celebrities on Twitter has become my guilty pleasure.  I started following Perez Hilton after the Miss USA fiasco, and I have found it extremely interesting to keep up with everything going on with him.  He has been using Twitter to promote his voice on gay marriage and the shows he’s been featured on. 

I have definitely enjoyed Twitter more this time around.  I would like to get more involved with it and communicate more with people in the PR field than I have recently.  I will continue to use Twitter and start using it more for networking.  I realize there are so many opportunities to be made with people in the PR field and hope to make some connections by the time I graduate.

Published in: on April 22, 2009 at 10:12 pm  Comments (1)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://mspille1.wordpress.com/2009/04/22/48-hours-of-twitter/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

One CommentLeave a comment

  1. Meghan, I am glad that you are enjoying Twitter! It’s good that you realize how Twitter could benefit your future career!


Leave a Reply

